How do you document your sysadmin?

After trying to organise my 7 years worth of documentation from MS to linux then FreeBSD, I have been hit by the revelation that my organisation skills really need an overhaul. ;) I am filled with chagrin!

With howto's and examples and then my poor efforts to document my server builds, I am seeking some advice from the gurus. I am self taught and have not had a mentor around to advise me on best practises with regards to documentation so if I may......

Here is what i would love to achieve.....

1) Interruption proofing - I am constantly having to leave my build or configuration to answer calls or go out and assist someone. I know I am not the only one, and a simple line "I am up to httpd.conf ..... " sometimes doesn't quite cut it. What's your method.......

2) A folder structure or file naming scheme for documents. Presently I have
Manuals => Server Builds
Manuals => Server Builds => backup configs
Manuals => Services (Howto's for httpd, bind, postfix etc...)
Manuals => Services => Examples (Real world examples from the net used for potential reference)

3) Method of documenting a server build - this is my greatest weakness as they end up messy due to unforseen issues that arise. 40 commands later - you find yourself scratching your head saying "Now.... how did I do that?"

4) Overview format for numerous machines. I have used vmware-server and the notes section for descriptions as a quick overview. Now I have moved to jails on FreeBSD7 I lack the visual overview and quick access to notes.

Now I do have a system that is usable - but very inefficient. File naming scheme may be the simple answer. If so - what is it you use.

As always - I appreciate your time and responses.

1. Mediawiki => To keep track of special software config. Like /etc/sysctl.conf amd tweaks. http://www.mediawiki.org/wiki/MediaWiki. We have developed our knowledgebase (KB), tutorial, faq using this.