[HELP] How to change boot mode to SdxR5?

Hi guys,

I heard something about a boot mode called SdxR5. It makes the SO faster and requires less RAM. I searched everywhere on the web but didn't find anything, so I was wondering if someone here ever heard about this "SdxR5" and could give me a hand :)

Thank you.

Where did you hear about this? There's zero information about it as far as I can see. It's a random string at best..

Probably the same thing as sending the new guy out to get landscape paper.

Well, I'm not 100% sure if the name of it is what I think it is. I will try to get more information from the place i heard it.

Anyway, you know something about a boot mode that make the SO faster?

Thanks for the answers.

I am sorry about the double post but I find that the denominated boot mode doesn't exist! It is basically: remove unused staff from the rc.conf

Mystery solved :)

Now, I would like to ask for some help to edit it. I'm new to FreeBSD, although I already acquired the basic Linux consents.

Problem solved, sorry for disturbing you.

Here is my rc.conf:

Code:
ifconfig_em0="inet 192.168.5.100 netmask 255.0.0.0"
defaultrouter="192.168.5.1"
hostname="SOMETHING"
sshd_enable="yes"
mysql_enable="YES"
firewall_enable="YES"
firewall_type="/etc/rc.firewallt.rules"
firewall_quiet="YES"# -- sysinstall generated deltas -- # Sun May 29 00:56:13 2011
keymap="pt.iso"

Ricky said:
Here is my rc.conf:

Code:
ifconfig_em0="inet 192.168.5.100 netmask 255.0.0.0"
This can't be correct. RFC-1918 says this range is only a /16 and most people use it as a /24.

You have /8 netmask. Thus, valid private network would be 10.0.0.0. The "largest" netmask that you can have with 192.168 networks is 255.255.0.0.

With that kind of setup, non-private IP addresses can be seen as a part of your private LAN. http://www.bbn.com resolves to 192.1.122.17. Both that IP and 192.168.0.1 belong to same network under 255.0.0.0 netmask. That's what SirDice is talking about.