freeBSD vs PCBSD?

What the difference between FreeBSD and PC BSD?I heard a lot about FreeBSD but what about PC BSD? I am new to unix and i dont know how to configure FreeBSD (make wifi connection,installing gnome....)so i want to install PC BSD on my lap top.So if there any big differences? tnx.

I think you should ask this question at the PCBSD forums.

Most members here are familiar with FreeBSD, in any case PCBSD should be a good starting point for you.

I used to use PCBSD for my desktop and relied on FreeBSD for my servers. After a while though I switched back to FreeBSD for 2 reasons. And this is purely my opinion....

When something was wrong with my desktop, due to a config file change or anything small/random (see this thread:http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=11763) then I found it very difficult to get help on the PCBSD forums.

A lot of the users seem to lack knowledge about what EXACTLY has been changed to the underlying OS and do not seem to be very technical in some instances. Of course that is a dramatic simplification and not ALL were clueless, but they seem to outnumber the technially inclined in large numbers.

Vermaden was accurate with the additions/modifications to FreeBSD, but again its finding out exactly WHAT has been modified and how those changes impact each other. One example of this would be this thread http://forums.pcbsd.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=14945 Notice that no one was able to answer my question.