freebsd-update 12.1-RELEASE-p4 version mismatch

Hi,

It is my first time to try freebsd-update. I patch the system from p2 to p4. After update and reboot, freebsd-version tells me it is p4 but unman tells me it is p3.

Is it normal?
Code:
victor@freebsddev: ~$ freebsd-version
12.1-RELEASE-p4
victor@freebsddev: ~$ uname -a
FreeBSD freebsddev.local 12.1-RELEASE-p3 FreeBSD 12.1-RELEASE-p3 GENERIC  amd64
victor@freebsddev: ~$

freebsd-version is a standalone binary - if you watch what freebsd-update installs you'll see a new freebsd-version.

uname uses the kernel, so if a new kernel wasn't installed then the version number won't change.

As long as you did
Code:
freebsd-update fetch
freebsd-update install
reboot

You should be OK.

So this is a machine that I did a clean FreeBSD 12.1 install on today, followed by the upgrade steps:
Code:
blah@blah:~ % freebsd-version
12.1-RELEASE-p4
blah@blah:~ % uname -a
FreeBSD blah.blah.co.nz 12.1-RELEASE-p3 FreeBSD 12.1-RELEASE-p3 GENERIC  amd64
So the same as you - I think you're all good.

The freebsd-version can show up to 3 differebt values. e.g.:
Code:
# freebsd-version -kru
12.1-RELEASE-p3    # -k: the currently installed kernel file
12.1-RELEASE-p3    # -r: the running kernel  (same as uname -r)
12.1-RELEASE-p4    # -u: the user-land revision
I added comments to show the meanings, and note that the output order is after sorting options
In this case the last update only affected the userland so it should be ok to continues without a reboot.
However if some shared library was changed then there could be daemons still using the old one.

Is it normal?
Yes. The last patch update didn't involve an issue with the kernel, so it wasn't updated.

freebsd-version is a standalone binary
It's a large script actually.
Code:
# head /usr/sbin/freebsd-update

#!/bin/sh

#-
# SPDX-License-Identifier: BSD-2-Clause-FreeBSD
#
# Copyright 2004-2007 Colin Percival
# All rights reserved
#