FreeBSD Mail Server

First let me say that I am very new to FreeBSD. However... new enough to be dangerous. I have been searching around for server software to replace my Windows servers and seem to have found that FreeBSD will more than suit my needs for what I am trying to accomplish and with that my interest was peeked. So as anyone with a new powerful toy, we play around with it until we make it work.

I have recently set up a mail server for our company using the tutorial at http://www.purplehat.org/ using FreeBSD 9.1, Maia-Mailguard, MySQL, Dovecot, Postfix, Apache, PHP, PostfixAdmin, SpamAssassin, FuzzyOCR, Clam AV, Pear, Maia-Mailguard, Mailgraph, and Roundcube. Would have liked to use Squirrel Mail, however it kept running into an error on install. Something about it would not run on PHP 5.

I started with this as a full solution as it seems to be a step by step solution, therefore allowing me to educate myself instead of bothering others. Through the process I encountered a few issues and was impressed that through help files I was able to solve them myself.

Anyways, in being new to FreeBSD, I had a couple of questions that I have run into. I was able to get the server up and running flawlessly. Everything works very well. It provided a complete solution as to what I was looking for.
I have noticed in my maillog file that we are experiencing a lot of brute force attacks. I am to understand that this can be eliminated or slowed down by Fail2ban. I was unable to find a dummies install tutorial on this. I tried the tutorial "Secure a FreeBSD mail server running Dovecot with Fail2ban" (https://sites.google.com/site/ghidit/how-to-2/secure-a-mail-server-running-dovecot-with-fail2ban) and it appeared to fail miserably. I'm assuming my lack of FreeBSD configuration knowledge has confused me. Can someone point me in the right direction please?