FreeBSD Installed.....But System Boot To Terminal - Heeeeeeeeeeeeelp Please :-(

Good Evening,

I have been looking to break free from the increasing restrictions imposed by the Microsoft suite of operating systems. As a result I descided to give FreeBSD a quick !! try. Unfortunatly since this is my first attempt at loading a non-windows operating environment - I'm finding it rather confusing [I think that since the home page of BSD implies it should be rather stright forward I must be missing a number of tricks]. Having dumped the iso files onto 3 CD's [which Is a pain in itself - having to keep swapping CD's over] I then installed what I thought were all the correct packages, but alas this does not seem to be the case since when I exit the installer and re-boot I'm immediatly asked to log in via a terminal [i.e. text mode]. I try startx - that fails, also KDE does not work. Have I missed something ?

-or-

does a basic step by step for dummies guide exist to get a basic KGE -or- GNOME configuration up and running - I guess I can install/configure further packages/applications though tools from these environments.

Thank You

Regards

Paul

paulm2008 said:
does a basic step by step for dummies guide exist to get a basic KGE -or- GNOME configuration up and running - ..
The learning curve can be nearly vertical the first time you install FreeBSD. Your own skill set, desire and persistence for slogging through it all can help to flatten the curve, but in the meantime, you might find that PC-BSD will give you a quicker UNIX fix that you crave.

:e

http://www.pcbsd.org

John

tangram said: