FreeBSD - Beginner

Hello,

For some month I'm using openSUSE on my desktop, but all in all I am an absolute beginner to UNIX-like systems.
I've just installed FreeBSD 7.1 on my old computer (without GUI, because I thought that could be a good way to really learn the commands and that stuff).

I'd like to learn how to set up a server and thought FreeBSD could be a suitable operating system.

Of course I know, first I have to learn much about the operating system itself, before trying to get it on the internet.

I've read the official documentation but now I am looking for a good book covering all the basic topics regarding to FreeBSD.
It should explain everything comprehensible to a newbie...

So can you recommend me any literature?

I found this:
http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/159...&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=463375173&pf_rd_i=301128
Do you know it and think it is suitable for me?

Nokobon

joel@ said:

Do you know if building an HTTP-Server is adequate explained in that book? Or do I need special literature for this?

By the way...do you think it is realistic for a beginner to build a server with FreeBSD or do I need years of experience?

In my opinion "Absolute FreeBSD" is, probably, a better option for beginners than the handbook. It's not complete and exhaustive but it's a good begin.

Nokobon said:
Do you know if building an HTTP-Server is adequate explained in that book? Or do I need special literature for this?

By the way...do you think it is realistic for a beginner to build a server with FreeBSD or do I need years of experience?
The book has some info on setting up Apache on FreeBSD. That shouldn't be a problem.

...and I think FreeBSD is an excellent choice for beginners. Setting up (for example) a web server isn't very hard. With the right literature available, you probably won't have any major problems.

A good book I found for bulding servers in FreeBSD is
Building a Server with FreeBSD 7
by Bryan J. Hong

Have Fun!!