FreeBSD and security mitigations

Hows FreeBSD security mitigations? I am new to FreeBSD and I am very satisfied with this system, until,
a guy who runs HBSD and OpenBSD told me:

" I don't know of any Linux distro which doesn't use PIC, PIE, and at least stack-protector-strong. The state of userland exploit mitigations in FreeBSD is similar to Linux in 1999. FreeBSD does not use any hardening outside of the weak -fstack-protector. The ASLR implementation FreeBSD is writing will have a very large performance impact "

Honestly, I am too scared. What he actually meant? Is that actually true? How that can affect my day to day desktop computing? Is that too unsafe? What he said was too technical for me.

I think your friend is misinformed.

How that can affect my day to day desktop computing?
It won't.

Is that too unsafe?
It's not.

In order to be able to exploit anything you first need to have a proper bug to exploit. Perfect code doesn't have bugs so there's nothing to exploit. But we all know perfect code doesn't exist. It's written by humans, and humans make mistakes. All these techniques simply try to prevent successful exploitation of that bug. None of them are able to prevent everything so in certain cases any of those protections can also be circumvented. They're certainly not useless because they do make it a lot more difficult to consistently, and successfully, exploit a serious bug. But it doesn't mean that a system which doesn't have those protections is automatically akin to Swiss cheese.

The biggest risk to any computer system is sitting between the keyboard and chair. All those protections aren't going to help you in any way if you blindly run an application you just downloaded from the internet. If that application does something nefarious nothing is going to stop it.

I think your friend is misinformed.

It won't.

It's not.