FreeBSD 8.1 Install failing - error mounting /mnt/dev/X

I am new to FreeBSD, but not new to computing. I have 8 years administering Windows servers and 3 years dealing with Ubuntu so I should be able to follow a FreeBSD pro's recommendations well.

I can't seem to finish the install! Here is my configuration.. I am installing from CD.

This is a personal server. I plan on using it for OpenVPN, Apache, MySQL.

System
----------------------
Asus M2NE-SLI
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
1 x 2GB DDR2 667
2 x Samsung SATA 500GB
IDE LG DVD-Drive

FreeBSD registers my two HDD's as ad10 and ad8.
I have chosen to install on ad8.
The geometry of ad8 is 969021/16/53 - I ran a CHS calculator and appears to be correct (500GB).

My Slices(MB)
----------------------
Code:
ad8s1a    /      511
ad8s2b    swap   1023
ad8s3d    /tmp   1023
ad8s4d    /var   8191
X         /usr   15359       (is this too much?)
X         /home  450828

My last two slices are X. Is this normal?
I've formated the drive and recreated the slices, but the X slices keep coming back.

I'm using the FreeBSD Boot Manager (BootMgr)
Selected the 'User' install package - because I don't know any better.

After choosing to install from CD/DVD I get my first message:

Code:
Error mounting /mnt/dev/X on /mnt/home :  No such file or directory"
Press enter or space

Error mounting /mnt/dev/X on mnt/usr  :  No such file or directory"
Press enter or space

Any suggestions?

rektem said:
My Slices(MB)
----------------------
ad8s1a / 511
ad8s2b swap 1023
ad8s3d /tmp 1023
ad8s4d /var 8191
X /usr 15359 (is this too much?)
X /home 450828

sysinstall doesn't like extended partitions. But your slice/partition setup is weird. A "slice" is what most other systems call a partition, up to four normal ones per disk: ad8s1 through s4.