freebsd 7.2 startx gnome crashs

Hello,
im new to freebsd.

after installation I updated freebsd and then used portsnap to update and extract the lastest ports.

I then installed gnome2 using pkg_add -r gnome2

I then edited /etc/rc.conf and added gdm_enable="yes"

i rebooted as per instructions and got back to commandline like before. gdm does start at bootup thou.
I tryed startx and said the command doesnt exist. to i then installed xorg using Pkg_add -r xorg
I typed startx and xterm started. i then edited the .xintrc and then typed startx and gnome starts but crashes.

what other information do you need to help me sort this out?
i didnt want to write down everything the console outputted when gnome crashed.

thanks in advance
Lodore

I wish this forum had a post edit button. i still dont know why x doesnt start automatically since gdm does say starting.

lodore said:
gdm does start at bootup thou.
I tryed startx and said the command doesnt exist. to i then installed xorg using Pkg_add -r xorg
I typed startx and xterm started. i then edited the .xintrc and then typed startx and gnome starts but crashes.

Let's clarify things. Are you using GDM or startx to start Gnome? You say that GDM starts at boot but a couple phrases latter you said that you've use startx. So which is it?

Do you boot to a graphical GDM and are able to select your session?

tangram said:
Let's clarify things. Are you using GDM or startx to start Gnome? You say that GDM starts at boot but a couple phrases latter you said that you've use startx. So which is it?

Do you boot to a graphical GDM and are able to select your session?

Hello,

I added enable_gdm="YES" to /etc/rc.conf and rebooted.
at startup i see the line gdm starting but I dont get a graphical login screen. all i get is the console login. thats why i tryed to startx manually. so i want to know 2 things at this time