FBSD 7.2 net application problems

I am very new to the BSD/unix OSes, and am trying to get a web server working to program and test page serves on. I had Apache 2.2 and PHP 5 working briefly, but then saw some problems during the boot process after sometimes booting with my broadband router turned off, and haven't been able to get a page since.

I have FreeBSD i386 7.2, and the network card is recognized as sis0 (another one, 'fxp0' worked very poorly just after I installed FBSD, so I use the sis0 card).
Currently the computer boots and appears to get a DHCP address assignment correctly, but loses all ping packets to any addresses except the assigned address. Sometimes the boot process will hang after the DHCP says it acquires a lease, usually with a "sis0: watchdog timeout" message.

Has anyone an idea of what might be causing the problem?
What configuration settings might be relevant?
How can I run more tests to see what the problem might be?

You might want to check your cat5 cable:
sis%d: watchdog timeout The device has stopped responding to the net-
work, or there is a problem with the network connection (e.g. a cable
fault).
From sis(4).

I don't think its the cable, I switched it out with another verified cable (330 successive not-lost pings).
Now the boot hangs at the "Starting apache22" message.
It occurred to me that I might be trying to use an already registered domain name. Could that be causing a problem?

I tried a different network interface card, and it is working much better. I think that the Netgear FA 311 card that I was using is not completely compatible with the sis driver that recognized it.

The fxp0 driver would get a DHCP assignment from the router correctly, but when pinging other devices on the network, would lose about half the packets sent, and was otherwise not great.