Ethnographic Research

Hello fellow FreeBSD users! I have somewhat of an interesting project. I am a University student, and as a term project for my anthropology course I am conducting ethnographic research. This type of research is simply observation of a culture. I have chosen the open-source community as my chosen culture.

Firstly, I believe this project will allow me to better understand the ideals and values that the culture shares, as well as some of the points of contention within its ranks. The point of this project is simply observation and learning from that observation; not necessarily to come to any specific conclusion or to prove any hypothesis.

Along with observing behavior here in the forums and at local events, I am also posing the following questions here in the forum for those who would like to participate in my study. The questions are basic. If you do choose to participate, please be as honest and personal as you can be. This is as much about you as it will be about the larger community. Also, if you can think of any other questions that would be helpful for my research, please don't hesitate to share!

Thank you!

The questions:

1. What drew you to the open source community?
  2. What operating system(s) do you use daily?
  3. What architecture is your favorite?
  4. Have you been a part of a development team for open-source software?
  5. Is there any part of the open-source mission that has it's downsides? If so, what?
  6. What types of projects do you see happening in open-source software in the next ten years?
  7. What other hobbies do you have? Please list them, and share stories if you like.
  8. What is your opinion of Microsoft? What is your opinion of licensed software in general?
  9. What is your favorite aspect to the open-source community?

1. Hacking a screen saver.
2. FreeBSD and Debian(GNU/Linux).
3. POWER/PowerPC
4. I'm not sure. You'll have to ask the others on this.