end of firefox?

xchris

Member

Reaction score: 15
Messages: 78

I am helping a friend to get rid off his linux but its something weird here, there is no firefox on the packages
I tried even a fresh install, no f way, the pkg search returns only the firefox-esr-78 I am pretty sure I have (at the PC at home) the firefox 81.. thats weird, the ISO I am using is the 12.1-RELEASE ...
 

Alexander88207

Active Member

Reaction score: 85
Messages: 167

Firefox for amd64 have failed in the latest quarterly build but will be back in a short time in the repository after the next build.
 

forquare

Well-Known Member

Reaction score: 155
Messages: 312

Looking at the packages section on Freshports for www/firefox
It looks like there isn't a package in quarterly for FreeBSD 12.x-RELEASE on amd64. There is a package (81.0.1_2,2) on latest packages.
As an aside, I did see that v82 has been committed today, so that will probably be available tomorrow.
 
OP
xchris

xchris

Member

Reaction score: 15
Messages: 78

thanks folks! but this procedure is a bit BS, I mean if a new version of a package fail to build then there is no package in place... #facepalm
 
OP
xchris

xchris

Member

Reaction score: 15
Messages: 78

thanks guys for clarifying this, is there any way to follow a more "stable" (Not as "STABLE release")
repo? or in fact I am using wrong ISO for the installations (says "RELEASE" for sure..)
 

mintchoco

New Member

Reaction score: 1
Messages: 16

There is an answer already about this question
 

Zvoni

Active Member

Reaction score: 48
Messages: 113

thanks guys for clarifying this, is there any way to follow a more "stable" (Not as "STABLE release")
repo? or in fact I am using wrong ISO for the installations (says "RELEASE" for sure..)
Your ISO doesn't have anything to do with it (or at least only in the sense if you choose to install the ports-tree from the ISO, which i wouldn't recommend).
The ISO contains (in that sense) just the core/bare OS. If you want to be up-to-date with the packages/programs you install afterwards/additionally (!!), just point your repo-conf /etc/pkg/FreeBSD.conf to latest instead of quarterly (or do it the correct way, and create your own repo conf in /usr/local/etc/pkg/repos/FreeBSD.conf
 

anonymous9

Member

Reaction score: 43
Messages: 70

Looking at the packages section on Freshports for www/firefox
It looks like there isn't a package in quarterly for FreeBSD 12.x-RELEASE on amd64. There is a package (81.0.1_2,2) on latest packages.
As an aside, I did see that v82 has been committed today, so that will probably be available tomorrow.
How can there be a Firefox v82 available when 81.0.2 is the latest available? 82.0 is beta.

Firefox releases
 

rootbert

Well-Known Member

Reaction score: 108
Messages: 287

The pkg system really is not in its best shape at the moment ... the servers are slow (at least in Europe) and quite alot of builds are broken. Using latest one cannot install chromium since the end of August
 

Alexander88207

Active Member

Reaction score: 85
Messages: 167

The pkg system really is not in its best shape at the moment ... the servers are slow (at least in Europe) and quite alot of builds are broken. Using latest one cannot install chromium since the end of August
Right now, chromium gets build again: http://beefy18.nyi.freebsd.org/build.html?mastername=head-amd64-default&build=p552369_s366713 and then its possible to see what the problem is. BTW, what do you mean with slow? I was able to reach 37 MB/s on my server in Europe.
 

drhowarddrfine

Son of Beastie

Reaction score: 1,665
Messages: 3,711

The pkg system really is not in its best shape at the moment ... the servers are slow (at least in Europe) and quite alot of builds are broken. Using latest one cannot install chromium since the end of August
I have no issues with pkg at all for quite some time. Chromium however is a separate issue
 

T-Daemon

Daemon

Reaction score: 511
Messages: 1,089

Right now, chromium gets build again: http://beefy18.nyi.freebsd.org/build.html?mastername=head-amd64-default&build=p552369_s366713 and then its possible to see what the problem is.
That's the head, FreeBSD:13:amd64, build cluster jail. That jail has no problem building chromium. Here the result from the previous built (enter chromium in "Built ports" search box):


For FreeBSD:12:amd64 latest package repository builds look here:

The problem with chromium on that server jail is, the build is interrupted by a runaway process after ~32:05 hours, every time ( search in "Failed ports").


Whereas the quarterly FreeBSD:12:amd64 jail has no problems building the port between 21:00 and 28:00 hours:


Taking the build times between quarterly and latest jails in account it could be an indication that the latest jail host server hardware might be undersized in the equipment.
 

Alexander88207

Active Member

Reaction score: 85
Messages: 167

That's the head, FreeBSD:13:amd64, build cluster jail. That jail has no problem building chromium. Here the result from the previous built (enter chromium in "Built ports" search box):


For FreeBSD:12:amd64 latest package repository builds look here:

The problem with chromium on that server jail is, the build is interrupted by a runaway process after ~32:05 hours, every time ( search in "Failed ports").


Whereas the quarterly FreeBSD:12:amd64 jail has no problems building the port between 21:00 and 28:00 hours:


Taking the build times between quarterly and latest jails in account it could be an indication that the latest jail host server hardware might be undersized in the equipment.
That's right, i made a mistake :)

Thanks for the additional information. I use quarterly anyway so it's no problem, people who are sitting on the latest can still use your workaround ;)
 

vigole

Aspiring Daemon

Reaction score: 681
Messages: 628

With the exception of last January
Now I remember, even that one had nothing to do with ports/head.
Story: AFAIR Xorg switched from devu to udev. I had few bindcode in x11-wm/i3 config file. My keyword went south. I thought it was Xorg fault. I switched to an old branch and problem solved. For next few month, I kept the old branch! There was no progress. Finally I solved the problem, by changing some of the bindcode to bindsym in the i3 config file.
 
Top