ELI5: Guys, I have a few questions about programming and FreeBSD

1- What would be the best way to learn posix with focus on BSD's, shell and Perl?
2- Is there another language for sysadmins besides shell and Perl?
3- What is the best way to navigate the FreeBSD source code?
4- What are the languages most used in FreeBSD development?
PS.: I'm not a developer or a programmer, just a script kiddie trying to discover new toys ;-)

1- What would be the best way to learn posix with focus on BSD's, shell and Perl?
PS.: I'm not a developer or a programmer, just a script kiddie trying to discover new toys ;-)
1. I'd think that a good approach to that would be to learn about BSD's, with a focus on POSIX compliance. Yeah, a bit different with how it was phrased in the OP... What I mean by that is, learn about a BSD feature, and ask if the implementation is POSIX-compliant. As in, figure out which parts of the POSIX standards apply to that BSD feature, and how they apply.
2. Straight C comes to my mind. Also, Python, sed, and awk.
3. Start in /usr/src. If you installed kernel sources (source.txz in the installer), that's where the FreeBSD source code lives. Well, it will be the code of whatever you installed. If you read the Handbook, it will provde more detail.
4. Offhand, I'd say C - most of the files I looked at in FreeBSD's cgit kernel repo are definitely in C.

Try compiling the kernel and to time that, maybe?

I know that "books" (paper with printing on it, bound on one edge) is getting old fashioned. But about 20-25 years ago, O'Reilly had a really good set of manuals about Posix standards. I had the ones for the C library, real-time (threads + async IO Posix.4, book is by Bill Gallmeister) library at home, and used them as reference manuals when programming. If you only read documentation that's tuned to Posix instead of BSD- and Linux-specific man pages, you will likely end up with Posix-compliant code.