dual booting with alpine linux

hello,

I have FreeBSD 14 installed on my ThinkPad T480s. For software compatibility reasons, I'd like to install Linux on this hard drive as well. I'm very new to everything to do with hardware partition, and I was wondering how to go about this. The distribution I'm thinking of is Alpine Linux.

from reading

it seems like I'll have to prepare a partition for alpine to go on.

How do I do this?

apologies if this isn't the right place for this question, or if it's already been answered. I looked around the forums a bit and couldn't quite find what I was looking for - most questions seem to involve installing freebsd *after* linux has been installed.

An alternative that I have used is an external ssd for additional distros; that way you're not really dual-booting. In fact on my Lenova Yoga 730 I am running Fedora, Manjaro, and Windows on the internal ssd (grub) and FreeBSD on an external ssd. F12 interrupts bootup to access external drive boot (FreeBSD).