dovecot / maildir migration from one server to another

Hi
I have an existing dovecot server running FreeBSD but the hosting provider is closing down, so I need to migrate to a new server.
The new server is also running FreeBSD.
I don't want to copy all the emails from the old mailserver to the new using a mail client, because currently I am on a mobile connection.
Ideally I would like to just stop the server, tar up everything, sftp it straight to the new one, update my dns and X509 certs and then start the new server.
However, I've never done this before.
My guess is that it isn't as simple as just copying over the maildir folders.
Presumably there's some stuff beyond the maildir folders that somehow logs the the sync state between clients and the server?
The only clients that we (two of us) use are Thunderbird and K-9 clients.
Thanks for any advice.

I've never done a file-based migration - out of similar uncertainty you mentioned. Back then, I chose to do it via mail/imapsync.
Unless someone chimes in on the file-level transfer - at least on that end I can confirm imapsync works reasonably comfortable as a risk-avoidance (but unfortunately network based) option.

using imapsync wouldn't be so bad, I guess, if I run it directly on one of the servers. I could log and set up a screen (in case my ssh connection over mobile flakes out) and set it going. The actual sync would be server to server so the mobile connection wouldn't be used for that.

Why would the server log the state of the client?

Ok. My question wasn't sensible.
Here is a more sensible one:-
Does dovecot have a "state" that is stored anywhere outside of the maildir folders?
or
Can I just copy over everyones' maildir folder, copy the the dovecot config, tweak it to the new server, and then start it up in the new place?

Can I just copy over everyones' maildir folder, copy the the dovecot config, tweak it to the new server, and then start it up in the new place?