bhyve Does the virtual switch interface have to be a bridge?

I am trying to get to run Debian as a VM. I have never used bhyve before, so you can imagine the steep learning curve here.

When creating a virtual switch to use with bhyve, does it have to be a bridge interface?

vm switch create -t manual -b bridge0 public

Can't I just use an existing interface instead, like bge3?

I don't use sysutils/vm-bhyve, but the basic principle of VM network is simple. You create a tap(4) interface and pass it into your VM (virtio-net). On the host, you create a bridge(4). You make this tap and your physical interface members of this bridge. I think sysutils/vm-bhyve does that for you behind the curtain. Maybe you have to specify your physical interface with the "-i" option.

During the installation of Debian, you specify the ip address of the VM (static, + gateway and dns) or dhcp.

So, if this is the first VM, "-t standard" is better suited. If you have already created a bridge you can use the same with "-t manual -b ExistingBridge", if I understand correctly.

A "virtual switch" is NOT a physical interface.

There is not necessarily always a bridge used. It depends on how the connectivity of the guest should look like.
I don't use sysutils/vm-bhyve, but the basic principle of VM network is simple. You create a tap(4) interface and pass it into your VM (virtio-net).
Yes. One or more tap interface(s).

Inside the bhyve, this then appears as a network interface vtnetN.
On the host the tapN interface appears also as a network interface. And it behaves as if the vtnetN interface in the bhyve were the machine at the other end of the wire (if there were a wire). That is, the tap interface on the host and the corresponding vtnetN interface in the bhyve together form a network.

On the host, you create a bridge(4). You make this tap and your physical interface members of this bridge.