Disk Partition Strategy and Encryption

I've been playing around with FreeBSD for a few weeks now in a virtual machine and have decided to take the plunge and properly install it on my laptop -- not because I'm confident in my abilities (I'm not!) but because I've been really impressed with the help the community here has provided. I'm still a relative newbie to the work of *nix systems so I have a few questions:

1. While FreeBSD will be my main OS, I'd like to reserve approximately 100GB or so for another OS. This laptop (20GB memory, 512GB SSD) will be my main work/personal machine. Are there any advantages for me to use a Traditional Split File System vs just having everything on the same partition? I was intending to do the latter.

2. If I do keep everything on the same partition, do I lose the ability to encrypt my drive? I was thinking of using the "Root-on-ZFS" partitioning option but the Handbook says that this "partitioning mode only works with whole disks and will erase the contents of the entire disk." Does this mean that I can't reserve some of my hard drive AND also have disk encryption enabled? (I came across this tutorial but wasn't sure if it still applies to 10.2.)

I'm sure I'll have other questions (such as how to get my wifi up and running), but those will come later.

Thanks

Regarding usage of SSDs read http://www.wonkity.com/~wblock/docs/html/ssd.html. I have followed the guide and everything just worked as described.

About the partitioning it is a good idea to have the system and the home separated. This makes back up more easy. If you mess up the system the data is still fine. I have not used separate partitions for /root, /var and so on. There are for sure setups where this is makes sense.