Directory Permissions (Postfix)

Hi,
I'm a newbie and hope am in the right place. I have a folder where Postfix delivers email. i have an account name "motty" that is in the same group as vmail. i have set all the right permissions to that folder but all new email coming to that folder does not inherit the permission and manually i have to give that account motty permissions to access email.

My questions is how to make all permission to stick to new items been deliver to folder?

Thanks,
Motty

Hello,

I don't know the specific answer, but it's my understanding that postfix should be doing deliveries *as* the user in question. I honestly don't know postfix all that well, but this would make the most sense.

Sorry I really can't be much help.

~Paul

Postfix is delivering email fine! the problem is when i try to access spam email in that folder /home/vmail/ i have to run permissions everytime a new item come in. Does anybody know what the command is to stick the permissions for all new items been deliver to folder /home/vmail?

Thanks,
Motty

hi Hydra, i access my email with dovecot. my email server works fine. my questions is when i access email to see the headers in /home/vmail has the right permissions but every time a new email arrives in that directory i have to set permissions because it does not inherit permissions from parent directory. I'm using freebsd 8.0. i don't know what the command is to set permissions and stick those permissions to any new items in that directory. i hope this is more specific.

Thanks,
Motty

Could you please provide the output of: postconf -n and dovecot -n ? Please, also show the ouput of ls -ld /home/vmail, ls -la /home/vmail, id motty and id vmail.

Hello hydra,