Solved Delete Key

Hi everyone

I'm a complete Newb with FBSD, and even in Linux I just began about 4 Months ago.
Of course, I still run into simple problems, like the one here:

When I press the "Del" key on my keyboard (DELL) or "Home" key, I get a tilde "~" instead of working keys.

I have a complete fresh 12.x installation of FBSD.

Unfortunately I could not find a working solution so far here in the Forum nor on the Web.
Every time one explains something, I run into other issues, or there is missing a command with the explanati

But I wont let go BSD for now, so hope is to find help here.

Thanks in advance for any help
bratak

If those don't help solve it for you, add more details - shell you are using, user (root/other) and method of connection (ie. Putty from Windows, monitor and keyboard, ssh from Linux using xy terminal app...)

I presume that You are using the default shell (csh/tcsh). For the Del, Home, End, Insert keys to work You need to add the following in your .cshrc/.tcshrc file. e.g:
Code:
if ($?tcsh && $?prompt) then
        bindkey "\e[1~" beginning-of-line # Home
        bindkey "\e[7~" beginning-of-line # Home rxvt
        bindkey "\e[2~" overwrite-mode    # Ins
        bindkey "\e[3~" delete-char       # Delete
        bindkey "\e[4~" end-of-line       # End
        bindkey "\e[8~" end-of-line       # End rxvt
endif

I presume that You are using the default shell (csh/tcsh). For the Del, Home, End, Insert keys to work You need to add the following in your .cshrc/.tcshrc file. e.g:
Code:
if ($?tcsh && $?prompt) then
        bindkey "\e[1~" beginning-of-line # Home
        bindkey "\e[7~" beginning-of-line # Home rxvt
        bindkey "\e[2~" overwrite-mode    # Ins
        bindkey "\e[4~" end-of-line       # End
        bindkey "\e[8~" end-of-line       # End rxvt
endif

Thanks Minbari

Unfortunately, after using this code, something weird happened.
Every time I login, it throws me back to login: