Declaration of Variables

Hi All,

So, I chose my host (Pair Networks) because it runs FreeBSD. However, I am a total beginner, so you can throw stones at me, because my question is stupid, but this problem keeps me from moving forward.

In fact, my script works with a very convoluted code, but I want to simplify it.

Here is my problem: I need to backup, zip and encrypt my databases to finally send them to a mailbox.

Here is the bash script. In fact, the variable declaration does not work. Thank you for your help.

Code:
#!/bin/sh

# Pair Database Server URL:

SERVERDB='dbXYZ.pair.com'

# Database User Name:

USERDB='ABC_20'

# Database Password:

PASSDB='X1Y2Z3'

# Database Name:

DBNAME='POL_40'

#####

# Path to Backup directory:

PATH='/usr/home/USERNAME/public_html/Backup'

# Password to encrypt Database Before Sending it by email (Do NOT use semi-colon ";"):

OPENPASS='%4957I@6IcrV'

# Email address where send to the Backuped, Zipped and Encrypted Database:

EMAIL='me@mail.com'

# Email Subject (date and time is added at the end of this subject):

SUBJECT='POL_40 Backup'

# Delete the Zipped Backups Databases Older than n Day:

DAYS=1

##############################
#                            #
#  NO Change Under This Box  #

DATE=`date +\%Y-\%m-\%d-at-\%H:\%M:\%S`

/usr/local/bin/mysqldump -h$SERVERDB -u$USERDB -p$PASSDB $DBNAME | gzip -9 > $PATH/$DBNAME-$DATE.sql.gz

openssl enc -aes-256-cbc -salt -a -in $PATH/$DBNAME-$DATE.sql.gz -out $PATH/$DBNAME-$DATE.sql.gz.ENC -pass pass:$PASS

/usr/local/bin/mutt -s "$SUBJECT $DATE" -a $PATH/$DBNAME-$DATE.sql.gz.ENC -- $EMAIL > /dev/null

rm $PATH/$DBNAME-$DATE.sql.gz.ENC

find $PATH/$DBNAME-*.sql.gz -mtime +$DAYS -exec rm {} \;

From the command line/shell type:
Code:
$ echo $PATH
You then will understand why overwriting PATH in your script is not such a good idea ;)

Hello J65nko,

Thank you, so I changed PATH with WAYTO.

However, it doesn't work. Here is the first alarm of email:

Code: