Solved DE and WM for easy keyboard navigation

Hello everyone,

I want to start using FreeBSD on my Desktop PC and need advice about what Windows Manager and Desktop Environment to use (with Xorg/X11).

After using Windows on my PC for over 15 years I switched to Pop!_OS about 2 years ago. On both I used keyboard shortcuts where ever possible as well as virtual desktops.

If possible, I would like to set up my FreeBSD PC in a way similar to them.

For example, I want virtual desktops to be "isolated" from each other, so that pressing Alt+Tab only switches between windows in the active virtual desktop, and not also switch between virtual desktop 1 and 2 (looking at you Pop!_OS / GNOME).

I don't need tiling, fancy animations or effects like transparancy, just something simple/lightweight.

Im happy for recommendations :)

I like JWM. If you're familiar with XML, it's good for it. Thread howto-jwm-configuration.59265 has a lot of information on setting this one up.

I'm not good with hotkey or tiling window managers. x11-wm/mcwm is a window manager which only requies a text console. There's hotkey tools in ports which can be used for window managers that don't have them. Also, there's x11/thingylaunch.

For a handful of window managers and their appearance, see: Thread screenshots-of-bsd-window-managers-for-x11.81505. There's plenty of other ones too, so you can get ideas on using those.

It's been my experience over the years that simply trying desktop environments and window managers is the best. Back in the day when I switched from IBM mainframe to UNIX (Solaris and SunOS) I used OpenLook and fvwm2. Since then I've tried numerous window managers and desktop environments, using Gnome2 for quite some time, abandoning it for its huge memory footprint. Which BTW KDE also consumed a lot of memory. At the time I was using a laptop with 768 MB RAM, with ZFS. At that time I ditched Gnome and KDE in favour of fvwm2 again. Since then switching to Motif and finally CDE.