Other Data Migration from EXT4 to ZFS

Hi all

I am a Linux user and trying to switch my own server (which mounts 4TB x4 HDDs as my NAS) from running Debian 11 to FreeBSD 13.1 (I am quite new to BSD, as well as to this forum).

So my server has 1 SSD (500GB) as the system disk and 4 HDDs (4TB each, let's call them HDD1 to HDD4), and I do have another spare and empty 4TB HDD (let's call it HDD0), which can be installed and mounted to my server. I just want to double confirm with experts here it would be reliable to do the following steps to migrate all my data from current EXT4 to ZFS

1. Install FreeBSD on the SSD, as well as ext2fs or ext4fuse or ...? (which is better/more reliable? - I think I'd only need EXT4 READ)
2. Format HDD0 with ZFS and mount it
3. Mount HDD1 (ext4) and copy all data from HDD1 to HDD0
4. Format HDD1 to ZFS and mount it
5. Mount HDD2 (ext4) and copy all data from HDD2 to HDD1
6. Repeat this on HDD3...4...

IMHO it will work without issues (?), but since this has never been tried myself and as it involves lots of my data, I'd just like to hear your opinions/suggestions before the actual execution, and anything else that I should pay attention to?...Thanks very much!

Why not put zfs on the hard disks while still on your linux machine? Copy all the data. Export the zpools. Physically move the hard disks to your Freebsd machine (or install it instead on the old one), and import the zpools.

The main question is: how important is data on those disks for you? Do you have any cold (offline) backups of those data? What happens if you lose it?
If you care for that data do the full cold backup of it somewhere. Otherwise it may be painful.

You didn't say how are you going to "format" those disks as zfs. Are you going to create new pool or expand the current one? Latter approach can be a problem once that disk fails. I'd strongly recommend to go with some raidz variant for fault tolerance though.

4TB each, let's call them HDD1 to HDD4