Dart language port for FreeBSD.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ports are a community effort. Nobody is getting paid to create or maintain ports for FreeBSD. Porting takes time and effort. Somebody has to be willing and able to invest that time and effort. Most software will easily compile on FreeBSD, but sometimes software doesn't and requires extensive modifications in order to get it to work.

Ports are a community effort. Nobody is getting paid to create or maintain ports for FreeBSD. Porting takes time and effort. Somebody has to be willing and able to invest that time and effort. Most software will easily compile on FreeBSD, but sometimes software doesn't and requires extensive modifications in order to get it to work.

Thank you.
I have been working for 10 years with FreeBSD and I know what ports are. My topic is only a way to understand a state of Dart on FreeBSD. Maybe who can give more information about porting problems.

Thank you.
I have been working for 10 years with FreeBSD and I know what ports are. My topic is only a way to understand a state of Dart on FreeBSD. Maybe who can give more information about porting problems.

Well based on https://github.com/dart-lang/sdk/issues/10260, it appears that Google doesn't particularly care about support for the Dart virtual machine on BSD operating systems. Someone took the time to port Dart to OpenBSD, but they do not care to pull in their changes because they literally do not want to support OpenBSD specific files to create clutter in a directory in their source code repository (https://github.com/dart-lang/sdk/tree/master/runtime/bin) that already contains files specific to operating systems such as Google Fuschia, Windows, Android, Linux (yes, they keep separate files for Android and Linux despite the for former being an instance of the latter), and macOS.