Shell cp full path of directories

Hello everyone.

I'm trying to backup modified folders (with content), but I don't know how to copy full path.

Explanation :
I'm in my user directory,
I modified DOCUMENTS/FIRST-FOLDER/.../LAST-MODIFIED-FOLDER/file.txt in the last 24 hour.

Here's what I do :

$ find . -type d -mtime -1 >backup.txt
$ sed -e 's/^/cp -Rvp /' backup.txt >backup2.txt
$ sed -e 's/$/ WHERETOBACKUP/' backup2.txt >backup3.txt
$ sh <backup3.txt

It only copies LAST-MODIFIED-FOLDER in WHERETOBACKUP, it does not recreate the full path (DOCUMENTS/FIRST-FOLDER/.../LAST-MODIFIED-FOLDER/file.txt)

How can I do this ?

I precise, I'm a beginner :-D...

Thank you very much

You have to extract the path from each line. Your current script ends up doing something like this:
contents of backup.txt:
Code:
./DOCUMENTS/FIRST-FOLDER/.../LAST-MODIFIED-FOLDER/file.txt
backup2.txt is going to look like this:
Code:
cp -Rvp ./DOCUMENTS/FIRST-FOLDER/.../LAST-MODIFIED-FOLDER/file.txt
And backup3.txt:
Code:
cp -Rvp ./DOCUMENTS/FIRST-FOLDER/.../LAST-MODIFIED-FOLDER/file.txt WHERETOBACKUP/

cp(1) copies files, not directory structures. So you simply end up with file.txt in the WHERETOBACKUP/ directory. Same as doing cp /some/really/long/path/to/some/where/file.txt destination_dir/, it simply copies file.txt to the directory destination_dir. The -R is recursive, yes, but only if the source is a directory, so cp -R DOCUMENTS WHERETOBACKUP/ will copy the entire DOCUMENTS directory (sub-directories and all) to WHERETOBACKUP/.

You will have to do a lot more scripting if you also want to copy the directory structure. You'll need to use dirname(1) to extract the directory, then add it to the 'base' destination directory, make sure the target directory actually exists (mkdir(1)), then copy that file to the target directory.