Console-only safe machine: jail vs. vm?

What's the better option to separate operating system from service with FreeBSD, jails or VMs?
Relevant criteria for my use case:
  • While being a Linux veteran, I have pretty little experience with FreeBSD.
  • All software components need to be upgradable.
  • Upgrades must not risk data loss.
  • The machine must be safe against attacks from a malware-infested LAN, and from directed attacks by anybody who does not have a zero-day exploit.
    To facilitate this, I plan to use a two-layer approach:
    1. The base layer can only be managed using a physical console and never accepts any network connects.
    2. The services layer contains services that may accept network connects (but usually do not).
I see two possibilities:
  1. Use FreeBSD and bhyve for the base layer, run the services in VMs.
  2. Use FreeBSD and ezjail for the base layer, run the services in jails.
Advantages and disadvantages? Third options (if they offer substantial advantages)?

I'm not sure that security is the best way to pick which type of virtualization to use, as each could potentially have exploits that the other lacks, or they could both share a common exploit. With the ever increasing number of hardware exploits, I'd be far more concerned about what hardware I'm running on than what I'm using for virtualization.

Anyway, I would instead use this criteria to pick between jails and bhyve:
  1. Do you have to run a different kernel or OS? If so, your only option is bhyve.
  2. Are you constrained by resources, or want the best performance possible? If so, use jails.
  3. Do you just want to isolate processes from one another? While it's possible to use bhyve, you'll likely do much better (resource and convenience-wise) with thin jails.
  4. Still not sure? You can try both, and see which fits your needs.