Compilation optimization settings for Atom N270 and general advice?

Hello! I'm new to FreeBSD; I've decided to install it on my netbook to try it out. I've done a bit of reading about how one can compile software from ports, specifically for their system's architecture, for better performance. I figured it would be interesting to do for a relatively underpowered machine like an Atom N270 powered netbook. But I've also read about how compiler optimizations can break software, so I'm a bit scared of introducing a whole new layer of complexity--bugs--to deal with as I learn a new OS, making things a lot more difficult. :(

So, I'd like to hear some opinions on what reasonably safe optimization settings are. I have edited my /etc/make.conf to:

Code:
.if !empty(.CURDIR:M/usr/ports/*) && exists(/usr/local/bin/gcc46)
CC=gcc46
CXX=g++46
CPP=cpp46
CPUTYPE?=atom
CFLAGS= -march=atom -O2 -fno-strict-aliasing -pipe
.endif

I did install gcc46 from the port, as it supports the Atom CPU optimizations, while FreeBSD's default gcc version does not. I also followed Configuring ports for custom version of GCC

Is that reasonable? Should I stick with "-O", instead? Is "-fno-strict-aliasing" recommended? Which flags does "CPUTYPE?=atom" and "-march=atom" trigger, anyway? Do they automatically enable SSSE3, since the Atom supports it?

Also, is there a way to confirm that the software I compile is in fact using Atom optimizations (to check that I enabled it properly in the settings)?

Touching CFLAGS is never recommended. As for -march=<cpu-type>, using CPUTYPE?=native is enough. It adds -march=native to CFLAGS which makes GCC select the best architecture option for the host processor. You can query GCC what -march=native implies
$ gcc46 -Q --help=target -march=native
$ gcc46 -E -dM -</dev/null -march=native
$ gcc46 -v -E -dM -</dev/null 2>&1 -march=native | fgrep cc1