Closed CentOS vs FreeBSD

Status
Not open for further replies.
I really hate to start flame wars. I love both systems. But I am rather new to FreeBSD and it is now time to make a decision on what software I run on my first web site. I am planning on running it on my home internet for a while until I can get enough funds for a VPS.

What are the major pros/cons to running FreeBSD over CentOS on my first server?

My 2 cents:
1) You do not really provide enough information for someone to give you a well reasoned answer
2) If you are interested in learning unix basics you will learn more with FreeBSD and will find it easier to tweak if you have specific needs.
3) If you are trying to get experience that could translate into a job Centos/RHEL I believe to be more widely used - you can verify by looking for jobs that want FreeBSD vs RHEL experience.
4) If you are more concerned about being able to implement a particular feature both will likely work
5) If time is a consideration - security updates for Centos/RHEL are easier
6) If your hardware is older and slow in my opinion FreeBSD is faster. The default install for Centos starts a greater number of services (avahi network discovery daemons for example).

There are many more considerations that others can add. Given that both can be freely downloaded, unless you are strapped for time or not interested in learning the best advice IMHO would be to try both.

jwele said:
I really hate to start flame wars. I love both systems. But I am rather new to FreeBSD and it is now time to make a decision on what software I run on my first web site. I am planning on running it on my home internet for a while until I can get enough funds for a VPS.

What are the major pros/cons to running FreeBSD over CentOS on my first server?