Can't ssh from outside. Can locally

Hi

I have a FreeBSD acting as my Internet gateway.

I have two (Realtek) network interfaces, re0 (WAN) and re1 (LAN). I'm using IPF with NAT on FreeBSD 8.2.

I have moved sshd to a different port, 8xxx. I can ssh from within my local LAN (via re1) on this custom port without issue. But when I attempt to ssh from a remote local to my public IP (on re0) I get
Code:
failed: Operation timed out

I suspect something in the firewall configutaion, but have no idea what. I'm new to IPF.

Here is my /etc/ipf.rules To me, this should be almost 'wide open'.

Code:
# block short packets
block in quick all with short

# block packets with IP options
block in quick all with ipopts

# loopback
pass in quick on lo0 all
pass out quick on lo0 all

Here is /etc/ipnat.rules:

Code:
map re0 0/0 -> 0/32 proxy port ftp ftp/tcp
map re0 0/0 -> 0/32 portmap tcp/udp auto
map re0 0/0 -> 0/32

Again, to me, that looks to me as though it should allow just about anything.

I've Googled for hours over days to try and resolve this -- but come up empty. I still can't help thinking it must be something silly simple though.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

You can't connect to your internet address from within your LAN. Test from outside your network.

SirDice said:
You can't connect to your internet address from within your LAN. Test from outside your network.

Really? I think it doesn't matter to which interface is the IP address assigned. In other words, I think you can connect to IP adress assigned to interface A even if the connection comes from client connected through interface B (sorry, I cannot verify that now).

pbd said:
Really? I think it doesn't matter to which interface is the IP address assigned. In other words, I think you can connect to IP adress assigned to interface A even if the connection comes from client connected through interface B (sorry, I cannot verify that now).