Solved Cannot reach hosts over IPv6

pkramme

New Member


Messages: 2

Hello FreeBSD Community,

I cannot reach any global IPv6 address on my FreeBSD 11.2-RELEASE-p4 system hosted on Hetzner Infrastructure. This is my assigned IPv6 address:
2a01:4f8:1c1c:----::1/64
and this is the gateway:
fe80::1
which (in my understanding of the handbook) translates into these lines in rc.conf:
Code:
ifconfig_vtnet0="DHCP"
ifconfig_vtnet0_ipv6="inet6 2a01:4f8:1c1c:----::1 prefixlen 64"
ipv6_defaultrouter="fe80::1"
After boot, this is the output of ifconfig:
Code:
root@fbsdtest:~ # ifconfig
vtnet0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=6c07bb<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,JUMBO_MTU,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4,TSO6,LRO,VLAN_HWTSO,LINKSTATE,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        ether -------
        hwaddr -------
        inet6 2a01:4f8:1c1c:----::1 prefixlen 64
        inet6 fe80::9400:ff:----:----%vtnet0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
        inet 159.69.209.--- netmask 0xffffffff broadcast 159.69.209.---
        nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T <full-duplex>
        status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
        options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
        nd6 options=21<PERFORMNUD,AUTO_LINKLOCAL>
        groups: lo
I can ping fe80::1%vtnet0, but i cannot ping Google's IPv6 Address 2a00:1450:4001:81f::200e, for example, which results in a timeout, nor can i reach the system from my workstation.

I can see these lines via netstat -6rn:
Code:
2a01:4f8:1c1c:----::/64           link#1                        U        vtnet0
2a01:4f8:1c1c:----::1             link#1                        UHS         lo0
so the routes should be there. Where can I start to fix this problem?

Thank you very much for your help!
 

ShelLuser

Son of Beastie

Reaction score: 1,715
Messages: 3,536

I cannot reach any global IPv6 address on my FreeBSD 11.2-RELEASE-p4 system hosted on Hetzner Infrastructure. This is my assigned IPv6 address:
2a01:4f8:1c1c:----::1/64
and this is the gateway:
fe80::1
fe80::1 is a local loopback address, so it cannot be your gateway.

I also doubt that this is related to routing because that would trigger an error message ("No route to host") and not a timeout.
 

ikbendeman

Well-Known Member

Reaction score: 18
Messages: 355

Not if it "thinks" that there is a route to host and packets are just being discarded along the way.
 

DavidMarec

Member

Reaction score: 18
Messages: 69

Hello FreeBSD Community,

I cannot reach any global IPv6 address on my FreeBSD 11.2-RELEASE-p4 system hosted on Hetzner Infrastructure. This is my assigned IPv6 address:
2a01:4f8:1c1c:----::1/64
and this is the gateway:
fe80::1
I also hire machines at Hetzner's with similar configurations (but running FreeBSD 12).


Code:
ifconfig_vtnet0="DHCP"
ifconfig_vtnet0_ipv6="inet6 2a01:4f8:1c1c:----::1 prefixlen 64"
ipv6_defaultrouter="fe80::1"
Appends %re0 to the route address. And, why calling for DHCP on inet ?

Code:
root@matarje:~ # cat /etc/rc.conf.d/network/re0
ifconfig_re0="inet X.Y.Z.D netmask 0xffffffe0"
ifconfig_re0_ipv6="inet6 2a01:4f8:a0:xxxx prefixlen 64

root@matarje:~ # cat /etc/rc.conf.d/routing
defaultrouter="X.Y.Z.E"
ipv6_defaultrouter="fe80::1%re0"
root@matarje:~ # netstat -6rn
Routing tables

Internet6:
Destination                       Gateway                       Flags     Netif Expire
::/96                             ::1                           UGRS        lo0
default                           fe80::1%re0                   UGS         re0
::1                               link#2                        UH          lo0
::ffff:0.0.0.0/96                 ::1                           UGRS        lo0
2a01:4f8:::xxxxx                link#1                        UHS         lo0
2a01:4f8:::xxxxx                link#1                        U           re0
fe80::/10                         ::1                           UGRS        lo0
fe80::%re0/64                     link#1                        U           re0
I can ping fe80::1%vtnet0, but i cannot ping Google's IPv6 Address 2a00:1450:4001:81f::200e, for example, which results in a timeout, nor can i reach the system from my workstation.
I recently had to open a ticket about issues regarding ipV6 for one machine. Once the support team operated a sort of table refresh on a router, ipv6 runs fine.
 
OP
OP
P

pkramme

New Member


Messages: 2

I also hire machines at Hetzner's with similar configurations (but running FreeBSD 12).


Code:
ifconfig_vtnet0="DHCP"
ifconfig_vtnet0_ipv6="inet6 2a01:4f8:1c1c:----::1 prefixlen 64"
ipv6_defaultrouter="fe80::1"
Appends %re0 to the route address. And, why calling for DHCP on inet ?

Code:
root@matarje:~ # cat /etc/rc.conf.d/network/re0
ifconfig_re0="inet X.Y.Z.D netmask 0xffffffe0"
ifconfig_re0_ipv6="inet6 2a01:4f8:a0:xxxx prefixlen 64

root@matarje:~ # cat /etc/rc.conf.d/routing
defaultrouter="X.Y.Z.E"
ipv6_defaultrouter="fe80::1%re0"
root@matarje:~ # netstat -6rn
Routing tables

Internet6:
Destination                       Gateway                       Flags     Netif Expire
::/96                             ::1                           UGRS        lo0
default                           fe80::1%re0                   UGS         re0
::1                               link#2                        UH          lo0
::ffff:0.0.0.0/96                 ::1                           UGRS        lo0
2a01:4f8:::xxxxx                link#1                        UHS         lo0
2a01:4f8:::xxxxx                link#1                        U           re0
fe80::/10                         ::1                           UGRS        lo0
fe80::%re0/64                     link#1                        U           re0


I recently had to open a ticket about issues regarding ipV6 for one machine. Once the support team operated a sort of table refresh on a router, ipv6 runs fine.
Thank you, adding the interface to the IPv6 gateway fixed the problem!
 
Top