Cannot locate Vim directories after installation

Hello,

I'm a newcomer to FreeBSD. I've had the install disk for 9.0 laying around for a while now, and only last night fired it up and built XFCE4 on top on an old (2007) laptop I received as a hand-me-down. Please forgive my incredible ignorance in this subject matter; I'm a writer who has only really started delving into my tech hobby in the past 18 months, coming from years of exclusive Windows usage.

All I really want to use this device for is to acclimate myself to basic FreeBSD functionality so that I can decide if it merits more extensive usage in the future, and to do some light coding/programming. To that end, I wanted to set up Vim and run it in terminal and fire off completed code to whatever destination I had in mind via an SSH client.

I got as far as installing Vim and downloading Solarized--the color palette I wish to use--when I found that I couldn't find any directories within Vim, such as the colors directory to which I'd need to move solarized.vim in order for the palette to work.

$ whereis vim

Yielded the following results:

$ whereis vim
Code:
vim: /usr/local/bin/vim /usr/local/man/man1/vim.1.gz /usr/ports/editors/vim

The second one is an empty archive, and the third one is the ports tree repository. The only actual presence the vim installation has is the first result, which is an executable. What am I missing, or does the FreeBSD version of vim handle palettes a certain way I should know about?

Thanks, but unless I'm missing something, I've read that over a few times and it assumes that Vim has directories-- .vim/colors in the case of the first install option, and .vim/bundle in the case of the Pathogen option. My problem is specifically that after installing Vim, I cannot actually locate any such directories.