Cannot boot from ZFS after freebsd-update

Hi everyone,

I've been using FreeBSD for pushing 20 years and am pretty competent but far from an expert... I've always managed to find the solutions to problems before by browsing the forums etc. and not having to bother people by posting, but I am stumped this time! Situation is as follows:

Server is running 12.0-R, and I realised when trying to update ports-mgmt/pkg that the system was due an upgrade to 12.1-R. It boots from 2 mirrored 120GB SSDs which hold a zpool called zroot (most user data is stored on a separate zpool elsewhere). I'm using a custom kernel, and I had the previous working kernel in /boot/kernel.old.

I ran freebsd-update fetch and freebsd-update install as a first step (possibly the wrong thing to do? Now moot anyway...), followed by freebsd-version and uname -r which confirmed that as there had been some kernel patches as a result, a reboot would be necessary. I assumed that I would then be able to carry on with updating to 12.1-R, and that my kernel.old could be used if something went wrong when rebooting.

However, booting the machine now takes me to a mountroot> prompt, with the following error message appearing beforehand:
Mounting from zfs:zroot failed with error 2: unknown file system.

I can boot from USB with a memstick image, import/export and mount the zpool, view and edit files, etc. My loader.conf is as follows:
Code:
zfs_load="YES"
vfs.root.mountfrom="zfs:zroot"
kern.geom.label.disk_ident.enable=0

I have tried renaming kernel.old to kernel, but this makes no difference; it still gets only as far as mountroot> and the error 2 message. It seems as though the system is now completely unable to cope with booting from ZFS.

What am I missing here? Many thanks in advance!

I see the config of my own machines and there is no vfs.root.mountfrom in loader.conf. Why did you set this? Because you have another pool?