Can somebody help me installing the Xorg?

I'm just a newbie trying my first FreeBSD 8.0 installation. I did as in the handbook guides but everytime I try with 'startx', a very ugly window manager appears and the display is full of random colors :( I think there's something wrong with my xorg configurations. I have a Dell Vostro 1088 with ATI Mobility Radeon 4300.
Really want to use BSD and really really need your helps.
Thanks.

Does the "very ugly window manager" look like this by any chance?
You might want to create a ~/.xinitrc file that executes the window manager of your choice, instead of the default.

Thanks to you all.
Yes,my desktop is just like the window manager in your picture (I guess so) but it's even worse. I can't do anything with mouse and windows. I think there must be something wrong with my card (?). I tried installing KDE yesterday but when I type 'startkde' it didn't work ("Command not found") :( Should I try with Gnome?

If you installed KDE try to start it with KDM. This is from FreeBSD Handbook :
To enable kdm, the ttyv8 entry in /etc/ttys has to be adapted. The line should look as follows:
For KDE3:
Code:
ttyv8 "/usr/local/bin/kdm -nodaemon" xterm on secure
For KDE4:
Code:
ttyv8 "/usr/local/kde4/bin/kdm -nodaemon" xterm on secure
If you want to start KDE with startx anyway follow this instruction from the Handbook:
After KDE has been installed, the X server must be told to launch this application instead of the default window manager. This is accomplished by editing the .xinitrc file:
For KDE3:
$ echo "exec startkde" > ~/.xinitrc
For KDE4:
$ echo "exec /usr/local/kde4/bin/startkde" > ~/.xinitrc
Now, whenever the X Window System is invoked with startx, KDE will be the desktop.

No matter how I tried with both KDE and Gnome, after "startx" there's just a black screen with many colorful dots and no mouse. It hangs there and I have to go back and press Ctrl+C.