Can I create my OS based on FreeBSD

Can I create my OS based on FreeBSD

• Yes

Votes: 9 50.0%
  • No

Votes: 9 50.0%

• Total voters
Hi.
My name is Ahmed. I'm a civil engineer :) -but all my works are electrical engineer- I'm a developer at Microsoft Tech Club at all I'm still a student :(:) . I'm new to FreeBSD. I want to create my own OS and for sure it will be Unix based. At first I was thinking of Linux but when I heard that BSD is more advanced and secure than any distro of Linux so I've changed my mind. I want to make new icons on KDE or Gnome and new Boot Screen new look for it and change its name for ex I will call it Ahmed Os which Is Based On FreeBSD and it's going to be open source.

So the question is can I create my own OS based on FreeBSD and it will feature a GUI and a BootScreen and a New Name and custom install. I mean to change the install into a graphical installation program like for example Fedora Linux. Can I do that? So if it's possible I want the tutorials.

You heard wrong.

Yes you can do that. You can do whatever you want with the code. It's free,
at least the FreeBSD part, Gnome and KDE are under a different license but as long as you provide the source code of your changes, you should be good with that as well.

Well, the licensing certainly allows you to do so. You can use the FreeBSD code for just about any (legal, ethical) purpose you want. Whether you'll actually be able to do it is another matter. I don't mean to discourage you, but:

Can I do that? So if it's possible I want the tutorials.

...it sounds like you answered your own question. You can read through the documentation and install FreeBSD to get a feel for the system, but there certainly is no ready-made tutorial on making your own *BSD operating system. This isn't like putting together a Linux distribution.