Solved cam status unconditionally re-queue request

• Thread starter Ralston Champagnie
  • Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Ralston Champagnie

So, I am trying to create a second drive for storage. I added the brand-new Seagate 500GB hoping to format UFS...well, booting the PFSense machine never completes so I could format the new drive...instead I keep getting: "cam status unconditionally re-queue request" and it kept retrying and getting the same exact result.

So, I remove the drive and placed it in an USB enclosure formatting MSDOS with MacBook Pro...then, I attached the drive to the PFSense machine then tried to delete using gpart delete da4...got some thing about invalid argument. If I use gpart add -t freebsd-ufs 1M da4, I get some GEOM error.

So, I came here for help as I am new to FreeBSD hoping to learn whether the drive is good, the official method to format second drive, and how do I more all /usr/local/etc/rc.d files to the second in order all future files stored there. Didn't expect to spend the evening dealing with what seems a simple thing in Mac world.

What OS are you running? FreeBSD or PFSense? If it is not FreeBSD, then you are at the wrong forum (which is what SirDice said above).

If it is FreeBSD, then please post some cut-and-paste from your console log, with the exact error message, seen in context. It is not clear whether the error is happening during device discovery, during first use, or during management operations (perhaps you are running smartd?). Also, we need more details about the hardware: What type of drive (SAS or SATA)? What is it attached to?