Building mfsBSD

I've been using mfsBSD for several years, but never mastered the art of buiding, so Thought I'd have another go after reading:-

where it says:

3.2. Building an mfsBSD Image​

The process of building an mfsBSD image is pretty straightforward.

And it ends up with:

Next, build the bootable mfsBSD image:
# make BASE=DIST

When I run this I get

Cannot find direcory "DIST/base"

What have I done wrong here?

Bash:
DIST='/workdir/DIST'
echo $DIST
mkdir -p /workdir/DIST
cd  /workdir

pkg install -y git
git clone https://github.com/mmatuska/mfsbsd.git

fetch  -o - ftp://ftp.freebsd.org/pub/FreeBSD/releases/amd64/12.3-RELEASE/kernel.txz | tar xf - -C DIST
fetch  -o - ftp://ftp.freebsd.org/pub/FreeBSD/releases/amd64/12.3-RELEASE/base.txz | tar xf - -C DIST

cd mfsbsd

make BASE=$DIST

Cannot find direcory "DIST/base"
What have I done wrong here?
It's right there, just a few lines above that spot
Code:
# mkdir DIST
Maybe the Handbook's new wonky formatting threw you off. I keep hoping it gets better. It keeps not getting better.

Forget the article.

Major issue there is: There is no need to create a (DIST) directory and extract the base, kernel distribution sets inside it manually. No such procedure is to find in the mfsBSD documentation. When the build process is invoked, a mfsbsd/work/mfs directory is created, where the needed base and kernel components are extracted automatically.

Steps:

Code:
# mkdir -p /workdir/DIST  
# cd /workdir
# git clone <mfsbsd>
# fetch -o DIST ftp://ftp.freebsd.org/pub/FreeBSD/releases/amd64/12.3-RELEASE/kernel.txz
# fetch -o DIST ftp://ftp.freebsd.org/pub/FreeBSD/releases/amd64/12.3-RELEASE/base.txz
If needed make changes to the configuration for the targeted mfsBSD image, see mfsbsd/BUILD.md.

When there is no need for installed packages on the image, rename mfsbsd/tools/packages.sample, or when third party applications are needed, modify it to include/exclude packages.