boot problem after update to 13.0

tsk

New Member


Messages: 9

Hi,

I have a problem with booting after I updated from 12.2 to 13.0:
Code:
Loading /boot/defaults/loader.conf
console-iterate not found
Error while including /boot/beastie.4th, in the line:
      ['] draw-beastie console-iterate

can't load kernel
I can then manually do:
Code:
set currdev=...
boot
which boots the machine fine.

The problem seems to be that the function console-iterate is not available when running the loader.conf script.
Is there some include of the support.4th file missing in beastie.4th or so? Sorry don't now anything about forth...

And why I'm the only one that is encountering that?

Any help?

tsk
 

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Reaction score: 12,755
Messages: 39,353

FreeBSD 13.0 uses the new LUA loader(8) (12.2 also used the LUA loader(8)). Why would it give an error on the old Forth code that's not used anymore?

How is the system booted? UEFI or CSM? What's in /boot/loader.conf? Also double check /boot/defaults/loader.conf for any merge issues.
 
OP
T

tsk

New Member


Messages: 9

FreeBSD 13.0 uses the new LUA loader(8) (12.2 also used the LUA loader(8)). Why would it give an error on the old Forth code that's not used anymore?

How is the system booted? UEFI or CSM? What's in /boot/loader.conf? Also double check /boot/defaults/loader.conf for any merge issues.
I don't have a /efi, so I assume it is the compatibility mode. It is a Gigabyte Dualbios(?) motherboard.
/boot/loader.conf is:
Code:
#currdev="disk1p2"
accf_http_load="YES"
accf_data_load="YES"
#acpi_data_load="YES"
ipfw_load="YES"
ipdivert_load="YES"
kern.ipc.semmni=256
kern.ipc.semmns=512
kern.ipc.semmnu=256

# for vt (previously newcons)
hw.vga.textmode=1
kern.vty=vt
kern.vt.fb.default_mode="1024x768"

/boot/defaults/loader.conf is identical to /usr/src/stand/defaults/loader.conf

Why it apparently uses the forth code, I don't know...
 

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Reaction score: 12,755
Messages: 39,353

I don't have a /efi, so I assume it is the compatibility mode.
Don't assume. You can tell how the system was booted by looking at the machdep.bootmethod sysctl:
Code:
root@molly:~ # sysctl machdep.bootmethod
machdep.bootmethod: UEFI

Based on the disk1p2 this system is UFS?

Not related to the issue but you can remove these:
Code:
accf_http_load="YES"
accf_data_load="YES"
#acpi_data_load="YES"
And add apache24_http_accept_enable="YES" to /etc/rc.conf, that will load them automatically.

Code:
ipfw_load="YES" 
ipdivert_load="YES"
These don't need to be loaded either, they're automatically loaded when you enable the firewall in rc.conf.

Code:
kern.vty=vt
Doesn't need to be set either, it's the default and has been for a while.
 

mer

Aspiring Daemon

Reaction score: 402
Messages: 636

Was the system installed as a 12.x or was it installed with something earlier?
Installed as something that used the forth loader by default and then upgraded through 12 to 13 may be a
way to have this.
 

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Reaction score: 12,755
Messages: 39,353

Do you still have a /boot/support.4th? That console-iterate function is defined in there.
 
OP
T

tsk

New Member


Messages: 9

Don't assume. You can tell how the system was booted by looking at the machdep.bootmethod sysctl:
Code:
root@molly:~ # sysctl machdep.bootmethod
machdep.bootmethod: UEFI

Ups:
sysctl.boothmethod: BIOS

Based on the disk1p2 this system is UFS?
Yes. Anthing better around?
Not related to the issue but you can remove these:
Code:
accf_http_load="YES"
accf_data_load="YES"
#acpi_data_load="YES"
And add apache24_http_accept_enable="YES" to /etc/rc.conf, that will load them automatically.
Ok
Code:
ipfw_load="YES"
ipdivert_load="YES"
These don't need to be loaded either, they're automatically loaded when you enable the firewall in rc.conf.

Code:
kern.vty=vt
Doesn't need to be set either, it's the default and has been for a while.
Ok

You see, this installation is pretty old.
I'm using ***BSD since Terry Jolitz came out with bsd386 release 0.0. I think I still have (private) files around from then...
 
OP
T

tsk

New Member


Messages: 9

Do you still have a /boot/support.4th? That console-iterate function is defined in there.
Yes, that file is still there. According to the date it is still installed by make installworld on the last update...
 
OP
T

tsk

New Member


Messages: 9

Depending on how old it is i suggest to backup all your data and do a complete fresh install rather than an update.
Really? Doesn't make installworld and mergemaster a pretty good job in housekeeping?
I think, there is only a problem in booting...
 

eternal_noob

Daemon

Reaction score: 734
Messages: 1,000

Really? Doesn't make installworld and mergemaster a pretty good job in housekeeping?
Yeah, usually updates work pretty smooth. But like i said, it depends on the version you installed.

I think, there is only a problem in booting...
That's the first problem you encountered. There may be more...

I never updated multiple versions in one go.I even did a fresh install when going from 12.1 to 13.0.
 

covacat

Aspiring Daemon

Reaction score: 329
Messages: 674

/boot/loader is hard linked to either loader_4th or loader_lua
i assume yours is the 4th one
check /boot/*.4th and /boot/*.rc against sources or just switch to lua
 

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Reaction score: 12,755
Messages: 39,353

/boot/loader is hard linked to either loader_4th or loader_lua
i assume yours is the 4th one
Yeah, that might be the case here. tsk check which loader you're using:

Code:
root@molly:/boot # ls -ali /boot/loader /boot/loader_4th /boot/loader_lua
546652 -r-xr-xr-x  3 root  wheel  491520 Jul 10 14:53 /boot/loader
546651 -r-xr-xr-x  1 root  wheel  430080 Jul 10 14:53 /boot/loader_4th
546652 -r-xr-xr-x  3 root  wheel  491520 Jul 10 14:53 /boot/loader_lua
As you can see by the inode numbers I'm using the LUA loader.
 
OP
T

tsk

New Member


Messages: 9

Yeah, that might be the case here. tsk check which loader you're using:

Code:
root@molly:/boot # ls -ali /boot/loader /boot/loader_4th /boot/loader_lua
546652 -r-xr-xr-x  3 root  wheel  491520 Jul 10 14:53 /boot/loader
546651 -r-xr-xr-x  1 root  wheel  430080 Jul 10 14:53 /boot/loader_4th
546652 -r-xr-xr-x  3 root  wheel  491520 Jul 10 14:53 /boot/loader_lua
As you can see by the inode numbers I'm using the LUA loader.
/boot/loader is hard linked to loader_lua here as well. So why am I getting error messages from the forth loader?
 

SirDice

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator

Reaction score: 12,755
Messages: 39,353

So why am I getting error messages from the forth loader?
That's what I'm wondering too.

Maybe a bit of long shot but have you tried updating the bootloader? Check for the correct partition number and disk, make sure you're referencing the freebsd-boot partition:
gpart bootcode -p /boot/gptboot -i 1 ada0
 
Top