black screen with Xorg -config xorg.conf.new

hi everyone, I need help with Xorg. I'm new in freebsd and read some other posts and some documentation pages, but can't manage to solve by myself. Could you help me?

I would like to start FreeBSD with a GUI, so I installed gnome2 and Xorg through sysinstall, taking the needed contents directly from the FreeBSD installation DVD.

Then I've add to /etc/rc.conf the
Code:
gnome_enable="YES"
line, and run [cmd=]Xorg -config[/cmd] it told me I could try the configuration by typing [cmd=]Xorg -config xorg.conf.new[/cmd]. I did but all I had was a black screen, without pointer.

Now, after the boot I've got a black screen with a cross cursor that moves when I move the mouse, but nothing else appear. If I press Alt+Ctrl+F9, a green screen full of black stripes appears, with form, that seems to be the login form, but I can't say for sure, because it is empty, here's only the outline and inside it's white.

Can you give some advice, please ?

Let's start with finding out what video card you have, and also whether you've added the /proc filesystem to /etc/fstab:
Code:
proc    /proc    procfs  rw   0       0

yes, i forgot to say that I added this
Code:
proc    /proc    procfs  rw   0       0
line at the end of /etc/fstab file. To create spaces I used the tab button, don't know if this can create problem when OS read the file.

Don't know if there is a terminal command to detect the vga specification, but I can say this computer mount a radeon X300,

% pciconf -lv | grep -B3 display

But "Radeon X300" is specific enough. Please show your xorg.conf and /var/log/Xorg.0.log. Sometimes these are long enough that they can't be posted in a message. Many people put such things at http://pastebin.com/ instead.

It might be wise to disable gdm until your xorg setup is correct. You can do that by commenting out the gdm line in /etc/ttys and kill -HUP 1. Then logging in as your normal non-root user and starting X should start twm.