Best area to contribute usefully

So to introduce myself (this is my first post on this forum ever). I am 1 year away from graduating as a masters in applied comp. science. I enjoy learning about operating systems and programming a lot. Especially systems programming (I love programming in Rust and C). I have some experience with C and writing embedded C code, a decent enough understanding about OS details etc and quite a bit of general purpose programming experience.

I have taken an interest into freebsd about 1,5years ago and been using it on and off ever since. Mostly toying around with it, installing it on my raspberry pi, testing things out, learning to use jails, following the handbook. I also started reading the "writing freebsd drivers, a guide for the intrepid" book and "freebsd design and implementation" and am about 1/3 of the way in both of those books.

I still use Linux as my daily driver (because of the availability of the latest software and many applications that take more effort to get working in freebsd + my classes kinda assume that we use a "common" desktop os, like Linux/windows/macOS). But I really love freeBSD. What attracts me is that the system is more complete and easy to comprehend. Everything is documented better, source code is in 1 place all together and usually more comprehensive and well-documented. All whilst having similar performance to Linux.

I am a bit in a phase of boredom right now, where I want to code something and find a project to keep myself busy, but I don't have the creativity to come up with something. I would love to do some OS/systems development and figured that contributing to freeBSD would be a fun thing to do.

However, I don't know where to start or what would be the most useful thing to contribute to, whilst not being to overwhelming or too simple/boring.

What really interests you? That is the best engagement. A personal goal.

I would like to see more Arm board developers.