Basics for Beginners

Hi, I am totally new to FreeBSD, I have been wanting to learn it for a long time. I am starting to learn the shell but I want to know if there is a command that allows me to list all the utilities that I can use? Also is there a command I can type to load a default GUI? I am using FreeBSD for PowerPC on a Macbook G4.

Thanks

Roman

I am starting to learn the shell but I want to know if there is a command that allows me to list all the utilities that I can use?
Start by reading man man and work from there.

Also, don't forget to read our Handbook, it will probably answer a lot of your questions.

Also is there a command I can type to load a default GUI?
FreeBSD doesn't have a default GUI. You will need to install and configure one yourself, see the handbook: Chapter 5. The X Window System

To add to SirDice's excellent advice: when you get to the handbook portion on installing software, suggest you use packages. You will see references to a "ports" system but that is a somewhat advanced topic that you may want to explore when you are familiar with the system. For now to learn, stick with packages.

Also, take installing and running a GUI in small steps: get xorg running first, then decide which window manager or desktop environment you would like to use, and get that running successfully. If you then choose to use a login manager (xdm, sddm, etc), set that up last.

Doing the implementation of the GUI in small steps helps with troubleshooting if you have issues later.

Welcome and good luck!

One big hurdle when learning new things is that you might not know what a "thing" is called in this new... something that you are learning. Try to search for things that do the same in some area you know, if that fails try a search on the internet, or ask in a forum.