Other Auto-decrypt geli at boot with key, or fallback to password

I'm looking to implement a way to optionally auto-decrypt a single drive system at boot. The flow would be like this:
  • Install FreeBSD, one disk, use GELI encryption
  • Login, create a key: /root/quick-boot-with-no-password.key
  • Create a reboot/shutdown script that offers two option: reboot with auto-decrypt, or not
  • If auto-decrypt:
    • copy /root/quick-boot-with-no-password.key to /boot
    • reboot
    • look for key, see that it is present, use it with no password, finish boot
    • after boot, secure delete the key copy in /boot
  • If no auto-decrypt
    • no key copied to /boot
    • reboot
    • look for the key, see that it's not present and ask for a password, finish boot
    • after boot, nothing to do
Side note: This is for a home server. It allows me easy reboots, and offers good enough security (it's a home server).

I'm new to FreeBSD. I read geli(8) and was able to use setkey to add a key just fine. I then tried adding this to /boot/loader.conf

Code:
geli_da0p4_keyfile1_load="YES"
geli_da0p4_keyfile1_type="da0p4:geli_keyfile1"
geli_da0p4_keyfile1_name="/boot/quick-boot-with-no-password.key"

I was hoping that would skip the password, but I still get the password prompt. I'm not sure if it's even using that key. The docs are a little light with regards to what exactly that does (or I just don't know where to look for more info).

Is there a simple way to achieve this in the .conf files? If not, is it possible to use a shell script to implement the logic?

Hello.
To implement geli auto unlock at boot you need to move /boot to the separate unencrypted partition.
I did it this way:
1. Created 512M partition for /boot-env
2. Moved /boot to /boot-env