Ati RV250+Xorg=blackscreen

Hello, I am new with FreeBSD and the first thing that I try is to install X.Org. It's a freshly installed FreeBSD 10.0 i386. I added
Code:
hald_enable="YES"
dbus_enable="YES"
to rc.conf, then did Xorg -configure. I start X.Org with Xorg -config Xorg.conf.new -retro. The only thing I get is a black screen and I can't go back to the terminal. (Login with SSH is still working.) X.Org with the VESA driver works. I tested this laptop with a current Ubuntu and the Radeon driver works well with Linux on this laptop.

I hope that I attached all needed logfiles and that somebody can help me ;)

Thanks.

pciconf: http://pastebin.com/fQFrsFBp

ati_xorg_log: http://pastebin.com/RK9yydqV

Xorg.conf: http://pastebin.com/WXQhZ90x

The only thing I get is a black screen and I can't go back to the terminal. (login with SSH is still working).
You need to enable the vt(4) console driver to be able to switch back to the console. Unfortunately, 10.0 does not have support for it. It is available on 10.1.

Xorg is trying to load radeonkms modules per your card.

This causes many strange things when vt(4) has not been compiled into kernel. That's also the reason there are so many X.Org "black screen", or "resolution reset" problems.
  • The New X.Org looks for radeonkms drivers unless otherwise specified in xorg.conf.
  • radeonkms means (in a convoluted manner) that [man-4]vt[/man] should be enabled. If you don't have vt, you are most likely going to have problems with Xorg.
Snakekick: This rant is for all future xorg-radeon answer linking.

Last edited by a moderator:
Ok, thanks, but how can I fix this? I tried 10.1 RC4 and 11-CURRENT with the same result. Or how can I disable the KMS driver, any blacklist files? The problem is not only the black console, the X screen is black too.

In 10.1, enter this in /boot/loader.conf:
Code:
kern.vty=vt
Then reboot. Do not load any KMS modules in that file, let them autoload.