Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A: Chicony Electronics Webcam & other

Hi,

I'm considering switching from Gentoo/Arch Linux to FreeBSD. I own an Asus Zenbook Prime UX31A with following webcam:
Code:
ID 04f2:b330 Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd Asus 720p CMOS webcam
I couldn't find the exact model in the wiki (there is a similar one, "CNF7129", though) - does anyone have experience with this webcam?

And is there anyone who tried FreeBSD on that notebook and can share his knowledge? I guess it will be pretty hard to get things like the keyboard backlight working.

I am typing this on UX31A running FreeBSD head. I have been using it with FreeBSD for about 9 months already.

Webcam is working fine with webcamd in ports. Keyboard backlight and sound volume controls are implemented by the acpi_asus_wmi kernel module and working fine. Known problems: 1) Screen brightness control doesn't work (I believe because of old KMS drivers), 2) HDMI video output doesn't work (screen and VGA are fine), 3) SD card reader doesn't work.

I as well have this ultrabook and love it but really miss having FreeBSD on my laptop. I had trouble getting past the EFI boot so ended up settling with Fedora :(

How do you boot into your system? Did you use another OS first and set up GRUB2 or something similar? Have you had any luck with rEFInd?

Would you consider writing a HowTo on setting this computer up for the community?

Hi mav@,

Very cool - thank you very much!

Too bad the SD card reader isn't working, but I think I'll give it a try anyhow.

segfault said:
I as well have this ultrabook and love it but really miss having FreeBSD on my laptop. I had trouble getting past the EFI boot so ended up settling with Fedora :(

How do you boot into your system? Did you use another OS first and set up GRUB2 or something similar? Have you had any luck with rEFInd?