Apache will not start at boot

Hi all,

I am new to BSD and have recently installed apache, mysql, php and joomla. My problem is with apache. I have installed apache13 which is running fine although I can't get it to start when the system boots. I can start apache manually with /usr/local/sbin/apachectl start and this works fine.

I have put:
Code:
apache_enable="YES" 
mysql_enable="YES"
into rc.conf which starts mysql but not apache.

I have also used dmesg -a | less and cannot see any sign of apache attempting to start.

May the problem be that I am using PCBSD as I have read that this does not start programs in the same way as Freebsd? In this case what would be the solution?

Thanks in advance.

What is the output of [cmd=]/usr/local/etc/rc.d/apache rcvar[/cmd]?

Thanks for the quick response.

Just for info the output of that was

Code:
#apache
apache_enable=YES

Even so I have since posting, managed to fix the problem.

To do this is entered

[cmd=]/usr/local/sbin/apachectl start [/cmd]

into

/etc/rc.local

It now runs this during the starting local daemons, during the boot up and apache seems to work fine.

Thanks for you help anyways

But, strictly speaking, that setting in /etc/rc.conf should run [cmd=]/usr/local/etc/rc.d/apache start[/cmd]. Can you check whether that command works or not? That's how the starting at boot-time should work.

I run that and it did start apache.

Obviously what i have in rc.conf is not running that command. Is there anything else i should put other than apache_enable="YES". Or is the problem else where?

Is the way i've done it not the corrent way then?

No, /etc/rc.local should really only be used for stuff that cannot be started in any other way. It's more or less a deprecated way of doing things on FreeBSD.

For the record: [cmd=]/usr/local/etc/rc.d/apache start[/cmd] will not start Apache if the information in /etc/rc.conf (i.e. 'apache_enable="YES"') is incorrect .. so Apache should really start at boot time.