ZFS Advice on what properties should be considered BEFORE creating a pool and datasets?

I am interested in ZFS properties that are problematic to redefine after the creation of zpool/datasets (such as compression property, the effect of which will not apply retrospectively).

It's funny, but I've been using FreeBSD and ZFS for over 3 years now and creating zpool and datasets using the default properties. In the following way:
Code:
zpool create -m none test
zfs create test/test

I didn't even set the compression property although it is known to have negligible CPU overhead, it saves significant disk space in some cases. Currently I do sysctl vfs.zfs.min_auto_ashift=12 before creating a pull (this is another pool-related setting that cannot be changed later).

And I create a dataset with the complession property:
Code:
zfs create -o compression=lz4 test/test

Please, advise what properties should I pay attention to BEFORE creating a pool and datasets so as not to recreate these pools and increased writing on disks?

I usually unset properties that are not supported on Linux, so that the pool can be mounted on Linux if the need ever arises. Same for some too-new features.

Code:
zpool create \
    -o feature@log_spacemap=disabled \
    -o feature@vdev_zaps_v2=disabled \
    -o feature@head_errlog=disabled \
    -o feature@zstd_compress=disabled \
    -o feature@zilsaxattr=disabled \
    xcarb3 /dev/da0s4

I think for 85% of the use cases the defaults are fine.

That sysctl: I believe that is the current default value; in the beginning (back around 9.x) I think the value was 9 (512 byte blocks) which degraded performance on devices with 4K blocks, especially if initial partitioning did not align correctly.

I don't tune anything, but from what I've read:
  1. Can the dataset benefit from a large block/stripe size?
  2. Are you storing lots of little files or fewer big files?
  3. Is the dataset intended for use by a database application? MySQL or others.