Advantages and disadvantages of using FreeBSD

Hi,

I'm a programmer and a bit administrator. I use Linux for everything on my laptop (programing (Java, C++, Python) using MySQL, Postgresql, Tomcat, Glassfish, Graphics (Gimp, Blender). I wan to migrate to FreeBSD to learn something new but I need to know if everything works on this system that I need (actually all stuff that works on Linux :) ). Can anyone help me? I don't want to spend hours on fighting with FreeBSD to recognize that some important software that I didn't predict doesn't work.

Thanks in advance! :)

I don't know what Glassfish is but everything else you mention works on FreeBSD. Since FreeBSD is not a Linux not ALL things that run on Linux are going to work on FreeBSD, because a lot of that software will be Linux specific.

Not all things? Maybe I'll ask like this: Are all programs that are platform independent or based or Sun Java or just working both on Linux and Windows will be also working on FreeBSD?

C++ is native.
/usr/ports/graphics/gimp
/usr/ports/databases/postgresql84-server (etc)
/usr/ports/lang/python...
/usr/ports/java/...
MANY programs in most of those categories and
the others.
(lang, audio, graphics, sysutils, X11,
converters, archivers, multimedia, ...)
see freshports.org maybe if you are unsure if you
could use a specific program. Though for most
a vast number of alternatives are readily
available for install.
And with tuning, setup, etc one never (practically
ever) gets a BSOD or shared library incompatibility
or equivalent.

see freshports.org maybe if you are unsure if you
could use a specific program. Though for most
a vast number of alternatives are readily
available for install.

Yea, but what I'm asking it's not the matter of what software I'm using now. It's a matter of feeling free with using software, developing myself, learn new technologies, etc.

Hi,