accessing newly installed package

I apologize in advance for what will be a trivial question to answer, but I am totally new to FreeBSD. I just installed 8.2, and successfully installed Xorg and fluxbox, which seem to be operating normally. I tried to install a web browser (firefox) using [cmd=]pkg_add -r firefox[/cmd] which seemed to work, but, I cannot start firefox. Well, maybe I can, but I apparently don't know how. when I enter [cmd=]firefox[/cmd] at an Xterm prompt, the system replies that firefox cannot be found.

What simple step have I missed?

-dvh

Ok, thanks. So I did the "rehash", but no change. Still get
Code:
Command not found
Logged off and back on. No change. Rebooted. No change. I am missing something very basic, but I don't know what it is.

-dvh

Nope. But your hint got me started. /usr/local/bin/firefox3 does exist, and running [CMD=]firefox3[/CMD] starts firefox. Now why would I not guess to use "firefox3" as the starting command...

-dvh

Ah, it's because you're getting packages as of 8.2-RELEASE. I'm going to make vague hand-waving motions toward setting PACKAGESITE so you get the latest packages, where Firefox 4 is now just firefox.

Thanks for the subtle reference. I read about the releases, but I am not sure how to go about getting beyond the 8.2 release. can this be done for just some applications, or should I go all out for the entire system?

I am coming from a gentoo-linux and arch-linux background, where there really are not numbered releases...more of just a rolling release. I keep those systems up to date at least once a week. can I easily exercise the same sort of consistent advances with BSD, or does the crowd here generally stick with a fixed, numbered release?

I have read a lot of the FreeBSD handbook, but I don't know if that is the best reference. If I wanted to learn more about how to keep my system current, can you recommend a site or reference that I can read?

-dvh