Contributions From Azure

https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/blog/freebsd-now-available-in-azure-marketplace/

It's not uncommon for IAAS guys to roll their own OSS images for better support, and that's great, for Microsoft too! (even though I'm not exactly what you would call a fan) ... but this part kinda made me cringe:
The majority of the investments we make at the kernel level to enable network and storage performance were up-streamed into the FreeBSD 10.3 release, so anyone who downloads a FreeBSD 10.3 image from the FreeBSD Foundation will get those investments from Microsoft built in to the OS

I'm a newbie and I've kept it purely technical so far, but some things one just can't help but be highly opinionated about... I'm highly suspicious of anything Microsoft touch even when they appear to be generous, that's a reputation they have earned, they have caused me too much pain - generally I want nothing to do with them.

I completely understand that's probably an unwelcome opinion compared to helping hands and bug fixes. Perhaps someone more informed could save me from running away screaming and let us know the extent of their contributions to the kernel and their planned future involvement in kernel development on FreeBSD.

In-case this is inadvertently my last post: thanks for everything your all good folks :p :beer:

Hi tomxor,

Stay cool! They tell us why they are interested in FreeBSD: "Why is it so important for FreeBSD to run in Azure?” Many top-tier virtual appliance vendors base their products on the FreeBSD operating system." They NEED FreeBSD, because their big clients use it!
So we can assume, FreeBSD is on the rise; even the guys from Redmond can't ignore that fact any longer. As long as they gain no influence in the line
and direction of the evolution of FreeBSD; take their money!!! Microsoft is going slowly down and they know it...
:):cool: