GPLv2 versus CDDLv1

jrm@

Developer
For anyone curious, here is a short attempt to clarify (according to the Software Freedom Conservancy) the incompatibilities between the GPLv2 and the CDDLv1.

https://sfconservancy.org/blog/2016/feb/25/zfs-and-linux/

I'm no lawyer, but here is my (overly simplified) interpretation.

According to the GPLv2, if you combine code under GPLv2 with code under some other license, the resulting product must be licensed under the GPLv2.
According to the CDDLv1, if you combine code under CDDLv1 with code under some other license, the resulting product must be under the CDDLv1.

As I understand it, the first statement, that GPL is infectious license is true, however the second one is not. CDDL require only not changing license to the covered code and it is source of given problem. GPL requires something (GPL license) for whole result and CDDL forbids it for its part at same time.

Yeah, after reading the text again that makes sense.

CDDLv1 said:
[§]3.1 Any Covered Software that You distribute or otherwise make available in Executable form must also be made available in Source Code form and that Source Code form must be distributed only under the terms of this License.
[§] 3.4 You may not offer or impose any terms on any Covered Software in Source Code form that alters or restricts the applicable version of this License

Software Freedom Conservancy said:
CDDLv1 is a weak copyleft license in that it allows you create a binary work with components under different terms (see CDDLv1§3.6). However, as seen in the text above, with regard to the specific copyrighted material already under CDDLv1, that material must remain only licensed under the terms of the CDDLv1. Furthermore, when redistributing the source code, you cannot alter the terms of the license on that copyrighted material.

In any case, it sounds like Canonical and the Conservancy will sort this one out. We're fortunate that the BSD and CDDL licenses are compatible.