Other i3wm does not launch the second time

Hello.
I am a beginner with FreeBSD (coming from ArchLinux) and I am having trouble to setup my desktop.
The first time I launch i3wm, it works, but the second time it does not run and I see the following error:

Code:
ERROR: No outputs found via RandR, disabling
xinit: connection to X server lost
I can launch i3wm again by deleting the ~/.i3/config file.

I use PCDM (I also tried slim).

Here is the content of my .xinitrc:

Code:
exec /usr/local/bin/i3
(not sure if it is used by PCDM, but it is by slim).

What can I do to be able to run i3 more than once?

Thanks for your help.

Not sure what the problem is but a good source to look for errors in this case is /var/log/Xorg.0.log. See if you can spot a difference between a good and a bad start.

Thanks for your answer.
I do not see any meaningful error message in this file.
And the only difference in the messages from stdin and stderr are related to i3 (i3status, pango, …).
By the way, I was able to fix the error shown in my first post (by using the xrandr command in .xinitrc but I still get the blank screen).

The only error I see now (in both cases) is:
Code:
failed to set mtrr: Invalid argument
I tried in DragonFlyBSD and I got the same issue.

By the way, I run FreeBSD in a virtual machine (qemu).
Do you think it could be different in a physical machine?

Thanks for your help.

The only error I see now (in both cases) is:
Code:
failed to set mtrr: Invalid argument
I tried in DragonFlyBSD and I got the same issue.
Yeah, I've seen that one on a couple of machines too. As far as I know you can safely ignore it.

By the way, I run FreeBSD in a virtual machine (qemu).
Do you think it could be different in a physical machine?